http://www.cnn.com/2008/SHOWBIZ/book....ap/index.html

And Richard Wright too.

Seems like the start of a bad week.

Comment

Interview with Karen Green on DFW.

Comment

Originally posted by heartbreak View Post

Comment

David Foster Wallace? Dead? Oh...how awful...he was...he was like...wait. Who was he again?

Comment

Originally posted by Ellimist View Post
            I finally started The Pale King. I am 1 page in... this is going to be a long read. The problem I'm seeing is what the editor mentioned in the introduction, there was no refining or editing on DFW's part. So, there is some repetition and oddity that would have been fixed up in the editing process. It's a bit raw. My opinion may change as I progress through the book.

I'm about 300 pages into this myself. I think it's great. Then again, my profession is currently tax credits, so a lot of the jargon and riffs on the IRS are right up my alley.

DFW's style is pretty verbose. If you’ve read Infinite Jest you know what I’m talking about. But perhaps because of that he's able to really put his finger on some abstract concepts and end up explaining them really well. This is hard to explain, but an example would be when he talks about making the kind of big decisions that affect the rest of your life, like what school you end up going to, or what your profession is going to be. It's not like you sit down one day and tell yourself "I'm going to think about this now" and then you arrive at your decision. Rather, it's thinking that goes on almost unconsciously, while you’re doing other things, and often you arrive at a decision without ever realizing exactly why or how. DFW just has a knack for writing about things like this in a, pardon the pun, novel way.